Surviving Grief: Ways to Navigate this Complex and Universal Human Experience

Surviving Grief: Ways to Navigate this Complex and Universal Human Experience

Author: Dr. C.W. Russ

Published by Womb and Wellness LLC

Grief is a complex and universal human experience that we all encounter at some point in our lives, and yet it can also be one of the loneliest experiences. Whether it's the loss of a loved one, the end of a relationship, or a major life change, grief can be deeply painful, isolating, challenging and unique. While the concept of grief stages, popularized by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, has provided a framework for understanding the emotional journey of grief, it is important to recognize that these stages are not a one-size-fits-all model. In reality, grief is highly individualistic, and the process varies greatly from person to person.

What are the stages of grief?

The stages of grief, as outlined by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, are a framework that helps individuals understand the emotional and psychological responses to loss. While it's important to note that not everyone experiences these stages in the same order or intensity, they can provide a roadmap for the grieving process.

The five stages of grief are:

  1. Denial: This initial stage is characterized by shock and disbelief. It's a defense mechanism that helps individuals process the overwhelming reality of the loss.
  2. Anger: As the shock wears off, anger may arise. It's a normal response to the pain and injustice of the loss. It's important to find healthy outlets for anger, such as talking to a therapist or engaging in physical activity.
  3. Bargaining: In this stage, individuals may try to negotiate with a higher power or make deals in an attempt to reverse or postpone the loss. It's a way of seeking control and finding meaning in the midst of pain.
  4. Depression: Feelings of sadness, emptiness, and hopelessness are common during this stage. It's important to reach out for support from loved ones or seek professional help if the depression becomes overwhelming.
  5. Acceptance: The final stage is marked by a sense of peace and understanding. It doesn't mean that the pain is gone or that the loss is forgotten, but rather that individuals have found a way to integrate the loss into their lives and move forward.

How to navigate the stages of grief

It is important to find what works best for you and remember that it may not look like what has worked for someone else. Here are some strategies that can be helpful as individuals navigate the stages of grief:

  1. Seek support: Reach out to friends, family, or support groups who can provide a listening ear and understanding. Professional therapy can also be beneficial in processing grief.
  2. Practice self-care: Take care of your physical and emotional well-being by getting enough sleep, eating nutritious meals, and engaging in activities that bring you joy and comfort.
  3. Allow yourself to feel: Give yourself permission to experience a range of emotions without judgment. It's normal to feel sadness, anger, guilt, or even relief during the grieving process.
  4. Find healthy coping mechanisms: Engage in activities that help you process your emotions, such as journaling, exercising, or practicing mindfulness and meditation.
  5. Be patient with yourself: Grief takes time, and healing is a gradual process. Allow yourself to grieve at your own pace and be patient with the ups and downs of the journey.


Remember, grief is a unique and personal experience, and there is no right or wrong way to grieve. It's important to honor your own process and seek the support and resources that resonate with you. With time, support, and self-compassion, it is possible to find healing and meaning in the midst of loss and pain.

This blog post is for informational and educational purposes only. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. We recommend that you consult with a qualified healthcare practitioner for proper diagnosis and treatment particularly if you are pregnant, nursing, or on any medications. 

:) Thank you for reading our post. We hope you enjoyed this episode of our new Blog: "Spilling the Tea." Stay tuned for future posts.


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.